I am in love with my Crock-pot!

I mean it!

I am in LOVE with my Crock-Pot.

I don’t know why I have been so hesitant to use it. In the past I would use her sporadically, but now it is a full on love affair! We are trying LOT’s of new recipes to figure out what works well for our family. I will post them so you can enjoy them with your families too!  Here is one of the family favorites from this week.

Healthy Mama BBQ Chicken Mae’s Way

adapted from Mama and Baby Love

 Freezer Prep

3 medium unpeeled  sweet potatoes, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
2 large green pepper, cut into strips
1 large red pepper, cut into strips
1 zucchini, chopped
1 medium onion, sliced
2 pounds chicken (I used breasts)

The Sauce

1 8-ounce can of tomato sauce
2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
1 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

3 tablespoons of White Vinegar
1 tablespoon yellow mustard
1 clove garlic, minced

1 heaping teaspoon Horseradish
salt and pepper to taste

Dump the veggies and meat into two,  gallon freezer bags, shake it up, seal, label and put in the freezer.

** Because the vegetables and meat make enough for two meals I doubled the sauce. We like to have a little extra on our plates here!**

Ready to Cook?

I made the sauce separately and poured over everything that morning.  Cook on low for 8 hours or until veggies are fork tender.

This was enjoyed by everyone in our house.  Rand McNally really loved it (he enjoys peppers), Munchkin liked the sauce a bunch and therefore loved the chicken, and Peanut ate a whole bunch of sweet potatoes! I can’t complain about this one!

Leave a Reply

