What’s for Lunch, Baby?

I had a friend ask me this question, what do are my go to lunches for the girls?  This is a tricky question. Peanut is just over 8 months and Munchkin is 3 years and a few months.  Right now they aren’t eating the same thing because Peanut isn’t ready for everything that Munchkin can eat! That being said there are many things they can both have!

The key to feeding kids is try to serve the rainbow. You want their plate to be colorful! Color comes from fruits and vegetables.

One of my favorite go to sites for ideas for baby/toddler meals is Wholesome Toddler Food. They have lots of great suggestions and easy recipes. I am going to give you a list of some of our standby foods.  I will let you in on our  food style. We try to avoid canned and processed foods.  I will admit there are things that I don’t do this for but when it comes to the girls I really try to keep to this!

Breakfast 

  • Pancakes/Waffles/french toast- I make a big batch and freeze them in zip lock bags. I pull what I need that AM (usually what Munchkin decides) and microwave them for  15-30 seconds and voila breakfast! Much cheaper than the box pancakes and waffles
  • Bagels with cream cheese or no/low sugar jam or both!
  • toast with cream cheese/peanut butter/sun butter(made from sunflower seeds- baby friendly!)/jam
  • scrambled eggs w/cheese
  • baby omelets-add peppers/tomatoes/carrot shreds/zucchini shreds/any veggie works
Lunch and Dinner
  • Boil Baby Carrots  they are easy to hold and they can gnaw on them! (Great cold for teething too!)
  • peas/corn/carrots/ green beans(cut up small)- We use frozen veggies mostly because they are picked at their freshest and then flash frozen. You can find everything w/o sodium if you look. Canned veggies have TONS of unneeded salt.
  • cut up pasta
  • meat that is either shredded or cut up into soft manageable bits- boil one chicken breast and you have meat for days!
  • mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, baked sweet potatoes
  • shredded cheese
  • tortillas/quesadillas
  • grilled cheese (Munchkin prefers the healthier sans butter route- bread + cheese + Microwave for 15 seconds
  • baked apples, peaches cut up
  • mango/banana/avocado/smashed blueberries you can coat them in cereal dust for easy pick up
I wanted to add, I really try to feed both Munchkin and Peanut bits of whatever we are eating, I just break it into really tiny bites for Peanut.  I rarely make Munchkin something different for dinner than what we are having. Don’t be afraid of flavor! Add garlic, onion, peppers … whatever you use! There really isn’t a need for salt or butter though. Kids don’t know what it tastes like and like junk food will learn to love it in good time!
Ok so this is a start… be sure and check with your doctor about some of the food allergy concerns.  I will do a follow-up post as more ideas pop into my mind!
One thought on “What’s for Lunch, Baby?

  1. Misty says:

    You can make grilled cheese for Peanut too! I have a friend who does grilled cheese for her 1yr old in the toaster. She puts a piece of cheese on a slice of bread, folds it in half & smooshes it together. She puts it in the toaster then cuts it into bite size pieces so that her daughter can easily pick it up. She has done turkey/ham & cheese too.

Leave a Reply

