The Yummiest Granola Recipe

In our house we all love granola, well except Peanut ( I bet she loves it too!). Rand McNally takes some to work with yogurt every day, Munchkin LOVES yogurt parfaits, and I have been known to have some with yogurt on occasion as well. We can easily go through a box of granola a week! If you haven’t bought granola recently it isn’t cheap.

I have tried several recipes I found online and just wasn’t happy. So today I came up with my own! It turned out really well and I know it will be perfect for our family!

The Yummiest Granola Recipe

6 cups rolled oats (old fashioned)

1/3 cup of brown sugar

1/2 cup flour (or wheat germ if you have it!)

1 cup chopped nuts (I had almonds on hand)

1/2 cup of seeds (here I used sunflower)

1/2 cup flaked coconut (didn’t have any but this would be yummy!)

2/3 cup honey

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

2 tsp of cinnamon

1/2 tsp of nutmeg

2 Tbs of milk

1 cup raisins

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.
  2. Combine oats, sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, seeds, and nuts in a large bowl.
  3. In a large mixing cup combine oil, honey, vanilla, and milk.
  4. Add the honey mixture to the dry oat bowl. Mix until it is all covered.
  5. Then grease (spray) 2 cookie sheets (baking pans will work too).  Divide the mixture between the two pans.
  6. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Stir during baking about half way through. Granola will be turning a light brown color when finished.
  7. Let granola cool for at least 15 minutes before stirring. Then transfer to a tightly sealed container (here is where you add the raisins if you want to).
3 thoughts on “The Yummiest Granola Recipe

  1. Rosemary Lance says:

    Thanks. I was thinking of making granola soon and now I will not have to dig around for my recipe. This sounds very tasty. Rosemary

Leave a Reply

