I am a Mother…

I have struggled titling this and writing this post, but  I feel like it  needs to written. That being said, I am NOT a ‘supermom’. There I said it, I feel like 100lbs lighter!

A Mom photo... far from what I look like!

I have a huge group of amazing women that I am friends with, many are mothers, and others that will be in the future.  All of us have have amazing skills in so many different areas! I have friends in tons of professions; fitness instructors, veterinarians, doctors,  teachers, day care providers, speech language pathologists, hair stylists, photographers, nurses, physicphysicans assistants, Physicians assistants, I could go on and on. The point is what we all bring to the ‘Mommy Table’ is makes us amazing parents. Some of my friends  work out side the home, others do not. I am really lucky to be able to stay home but some days it doesn’t seem that way.  I am going to come clean and say it… ready… here it comes…  I miss being a teacher.

I loved working as an educator. I mean that. Yes, it had  tough days but working in Special Education was so rewarding for me. I couldn’t get enough of seeing kids succeed.  I never set a ceiling because there was NO need to limit kids.

People have asked me,  what are you plans for when your kids go to school? This is such a hard question to answer. Part of me wants to go back to teaching, maybe even teach at the school where the girls go (but not be their teacher 🙂 ).

Then there is the part that wants to help mothers. I wanted to be a lactation consultant but  you really need to be an RN to get hired at hospitals.  I don’t want to be an RN so there went that plan.

Right now I am toying with becoming a doula. I think I am going to see if I can meet with one locally and shadow her to really decide if it is right for me.  However, for the next 4ish years I have one main job… be a mother to Munchkin and Peanut.

I have chosen to see this as a reduction in class size (ever teachers dream!). I went from about 30 kids on my caseload to 2! I will add this job is the hardest I have EVER had. I would kill some days for a 45 minute planning period :). I do my best to keep us all busy and learning new things!

Some days I feel like this

Anyway, I wanted my fellow Moms to know that despite how it appears that I have it together 24/7, I don’t.  I make mistakes, skip the gym some nights, grab a pizza just because, turn on PBS for a 25 minute break, and even the greenest of greenies throws out a plastic bottle at times!

I am learning as I go, that is the Art and Adventures part of this blog! I  stumble regularly and often you will even get to read about that too.  So while reading my blog and know sometimes I Facebook instead of meal planning, or play on Pinterest instead of making dinner (don’t worry this is when I go get a pizza- no starving kids or husband I swear!!) and much more.

One more Anne Traitor image…

6 thoughts on “I am a Mother…

  1. Erin says:

    love it! Totally can relate to when people say similar things on this end. We all do the “cheat” things 🙂 You are a great Mom and I really enjoyed the post. You are just doing what you do, and I like that!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I HEAR YA! I love my job as Mommy. I swear; really I do…most days. Other days I remember how much fun it was to manage a restaurant or run an office…to interact for an extended period of time with adults who pretty much do what I tell them (yeah, I have control issues and????) For the future? I have toyed with the idea of homeschooling and it does appeal to me in many ways (especially w/the school district we live in!) My ultimate dream is to have a black-box theatre for at-risk youth but I can’t even imagine how I’d manage that at this point. Right now, I am just glad that I can manage to feed them all mostly healthy food at around the same time every day. 🙂

  3. Summer Robinson says:

    Hey if you’re interested in becoming a doula look at st louis healing art center they have the certification classes over there all the time.

    And I have a confession to make as well!! When I was a stay at home mom I actually judge those moms that worked out of the home saying why would you have kids if someone else was going to raise them 40hrs+ a week. How funny is it now with me working 4 days a week and loving it!! Hypocrite here!! I’ve learned that being a stay at home mom is great but it’s also great to show your kids that you can still be you outside of being a mom! You have to do what works for you and your family and if everyone feels loved and is well rounded who am I to judge what is right and wrong!

  4. Mo says:

    Thanks for posting this Mae, it is so true. Somedays I would give anything to walk out the door dressed nice as opposed to work out gear or jeans. I am jealous when I walk past restaurants at lunch time to watch the professionals eat a quiet lunch, while I have been a referee for most of the morning and am far from relaxed at Midday!! With this been said they are not going to be this small forever and maybe just maybe I will one day wish I could go back this day.

  5. karingforkids says:

    I would have to say that I think most stay-at-home-moms struggle with missing their ‘work’. Which is probably why a lot of us blog… 🙂 That is why I started my blog; I needed something that was mine. I needed to re-connect with my colleagues and share what I know and am passionate about as it concerns the health and safety of children.
    I think you would make an amazing doula! I had one with Joseph and it was FABULOUS!

Leave a Reply

