Merry ‘Pinterest’!!

What a very busy time of year it is!

I found a couple fun ‘Christmas-y’ things to do on Pinterest.

First a very simple way to display all the beautiful cards sent out by friends and family. RIBBON!

Now the next is a SUPER easy way to make your house smell like the holidays! We used to make these amazing cinnamon ornaments for Christmas when I was a girl scout.  So when I came across them online I had to make them with the girls!

Cinnamon Applesauce Ornaments

Original Directions

Here is what you need:

  • 1 cup ground cinnamon (1 standard container is exactly 1 cup!)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce (give or take)
  • glue (the standard size container is about 1/2)
  • Rolling pin
  •  cookie cutters
  • One straw
  • Wire rack
  • Paper towels
  • Baking sheet
  •  ribbon for each ornament or a hook
In a bowl, mix together 1 cup ground cinnamon and 1/4 cup applesauce using a rubber spatula.  Stir in 1/2 cup craft glue.  Okay, I will not lie I used my mixer, maybe over kill but it worked! I also had to add a smidge more applesauce to get a good rollable consistency.

Roll out the dough on either a silpat type baking mat or wax paper for easier clean up and less need for dusting when rolling.

Roll the ball out to about a 1/4 in thick. Then grab your  holiday cutters and place them into the dough. Grab your straw and poke a hole in each to use later for attaching your hook or ribbon.

Now you have 2 options:

If you like to see things you make come to fruition ASAP: Bake at 200 degrees for about an hour (or 2) flip half way through.

OR

Dry them on paper towels on drying racks for 3-4 days flipping and replacing towels when the dry.

Voila… I wish you could smell these… they are just the perfect addition to any tree! My husband was SUPER bummed because he thought I said I was making Cinnamon Rolls… and realized he misheard me when I started pouring a bottle of glue into mixer!!

You can make about 12-15 for VERY little money! I got 2 bottles of cinnamon at Aldi for .99 each, some cinnamon apple sauce for just over a $1, and some craft glue for $1.47 for a 2 pack at Hobby Lobby.

One thought on “Merry ‘Pinterest’!!

Leave a Reply

