Crunchy Baked Mozzarella Sticks!

Since graduating college I have spent every New Years Eve with Rand McNally. Okay, all but the one he spent working for Uncle Sam in a Desert. His family tradition for this night is a instead of a meal, they have lots of appetizers.  So we have adopted this tradition in our house as well.

As I have mentioned several times I am slightly addicted to ‘pinning’ new things to try on Pinterest.  I thought I found the perfect recipe while pinning one night for Mozzarella sticks, until I read the word ‘fried’. I don’t own a fryer and too many fried foods make us sick! So I continued the hunt for a baked recipe.

I came across a couple but wasn’t sold. I did use them for inspiration but changed it up… why not! The verdict.. they ROCKED!!!

Crunchy Baked Mozzarella Sticks

Ingredients

  • 12 egg roll wrappers cut in half
  • 12 string cheese sticks cut in half
  • water
  • 1 cup Italian Bread crumbs
  • 1 cup Panko Bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 2 tsp extra-virgin olive oil (or olive Oil spray)

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat type baking mat.

2. Cut the egg roll wrappers in half (My kitchen shears were perfect for this! ). Cut all the Mozzarella sticks in half. You can choose to skip this step but I will say they are pretty big even cut in half!

3. Place an egg roll wrapper  where it looks like a horizontal rectangle when you look at it. Place the Mozzarella stick in the middle. Fold in the ends and then roll to completely cover the stick. Use a little water to ‘seal’ the wrapper. Repeat for all the sticks.

4. Use a pastry brush or dunk the wrapped mozzarella stick in the egg wash. Then roll (use a spoon for better coverage) in the bread crumbs. Place on your prepared baking sheet.  Repeat this step for all of the sticks.

5. Lightly brush the tops of the sticks with the olive oil. I used my Pampered  Chef sprayer and this worked well!

6. Bake in the preheated oven for 10 minutes. Then place under broiler to finish.   Don’t walk away from the oven!!! Sticks are finished when the edges turn brown. Allow to cool for a few minutes before serving, unless you want to scold your guests and family :).

Serve with a marinara, ranch, or Alfredo dipping sauce.

Leave a Reply

